Vegan Mexican Hot Chocolate

Hot chocolate has always been the first thing I look forward to when the temperature begins to drop, so after eliminating dairy from my diet I was NOT willing to let this love go! In January I was introduced to something even more incredible than ordinary hot chocolate: Mexican hot chocolate. This treat opened my eyes to how beautifully chocolate and cinnamon can combine without overpowering each other. From my desire to create a delicious, yet simple, vegan hot chocolate option and from my newfound obsession with Mexican hot chocolate, I decided to create my own spin on this comfort in a cup.

fullsizerender-7

What you’ll need:

3 cups of Chocolate Almond Milk

1/2 teaspoon of Cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of Vanilla Extract

2 teaspoons of Cocoa Powder

1 teaspoon of Brown Sugar

Vegan Marshmallows (if desired!)

Pour the chocolate almond milk into a sauce pan on medium heat for about two minutes, then turn it to low heat. Add in the spices and stir the liquid gently with a spoon until it is thoroughly mixed. Let it simmer for about 5 minutes, then enjoy!

fullsizerender-10

 

 

 

Leave a comment